“Thoughts are suggestions, not orders” : 5 sentences that changed my perspective and can help you in your everyday life

Sophie L.
3 min readApr 17, 2024

You know how you screenshot or save inspirational quotes on Instagram or while reading ? Or you’re hearing someone speak and think “oh wow, i never thought of it that way !”

Most of those quotes will end up in a messy folder or a personal notebook, if not forgotten instantanely.

But 6 sentences made it so deeply in my mind that I think a lot about them, especially in high stress or anxiety scenario (read : blurry mind, wanna drink, trauma reactions, etc.)

Here we go.

“Thoughts are suggestions, not orders”

I think I read that a few years ago in James Clear’s newsletter, but I’m not fully sure of it.

I was struggling with myriads of thoughts I could not control, being a slave to them, not being able to recognize that i did not have to act on them.

Weirdly enough, a few years later, I did a Zen meditation colive for a month and it sitting and observing led to this exact sentence.

Thoughts exist. Don’t fight, acknowledge. But you don’t have to react to each of them. They can be like snowflakes approaching the sun.

--

--

Sophie L.

38 yo. I work in digital marketing but write about my self-healing path (psychedelics, meditation, etc.)